Interview with R.A. Andrade #Tuesdaybookblog

Today I’m fortunate to present R. A. Andrade author of The Field Trip.

Hi Ron, thanks for agreeing to this interview.

Question 1) What part of the world do you come from?

Ron: First, I would clarify that the world I come from is planet Earth to dispel anyB1uXJ7qnXrS._UX250_ rumors to the contrary. I was born and raised in New England, and then moved to Michigan after graduating college.

Question 2) What do you think makes a good story?

Ron: If people enjoy reading a story, it is a good story. What is a story people enjoy reading? I believe everyone guesses at the answer to that question, or write what they like and get pleasantly surprised to discover other people like it as well.

Question 3) What inspired you to write your first book?

Ron: There was a point in time when I became addicted to reading novels at any opportunity. I would read anywhere and anytime, even if only there was only a fifteen minute window. Primarily reading science fiction and mysteries, many of the plots became repetitive and all too familiar. Hungering for something different, the urge to try writing my own story overtook me…so I did. I worked on that novel in the same manner I had been reading…nonstop. When finished, I considered it great; in need of little editing, which I could surely do myself.

Reading through that first novel now, only one word comes to my mind…trash.

Question 4) What is your work schedule like when you’re writing?

Ron: There is no schedule. I write when I make the time, which can be any time of day or night. I usually write daily in blocks of time that fit opportunity and flow of thoughts. This most often occurs late night but the story still works in my mind during other daily activities that allows me to escape to my work. 

Question 5) What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

Ron: Nothing terribly interesting, but most short fiction I write begins with an idea intending to be a science fiction story. Somehow, I lose control of the stories along the way and the results are something else…a spooky murder where a crow is the victim…Santa Claus straightening out management at a corporate staff meeting…and of course a superhero squirrel tale.

Question 6) Give us the title and genre of your latest book.

Ron: The Field Trip. The back cover states it is “An adventure mixe23702427d with a touch of fantasy. Add a twist of love.” Some readers classify it as science fiction.

Question 7) What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your book?

Ron: That my spelling improved dramatically. This was unintentional since I have always bragged about being a poor speller. Fortunately, there are some words I continue to misspell although used thousands of times.

Question 8) Do you have an excerpt from your current work you’d like to share?

Ron: These are a few paragraphs from an upcoming novel:

Glen backed the Mustang to the park entrance road, and then proceeded in. They passed the deserted collection booth, following the arrows that indicated the route to the lake. Parking at the edge of the lot that would have normally been crammed with a hundred or more cars and trucks on a hot August day, they sat alone.

They all got out of the car, Sunshine and Glen pulling bags, a cooler, and a blanket from the trunk. Traci watched the two in disbelief, her hands on her hips. “The world is coming to an end and you two are going to have a picnic?” She looked down at the T-shirt she was wearing that Glen had found for her, pulling it away from her body. “And who the hell is John Denver? I would die if anyone saw me in this.”

Closing the trunk, Sunshine said to Glen, “When I get my memory back I hope I don’t discover I have children. They are a pain in the ass.”

Traci mouthed “what”, and then yelled, “You know I’m standing right here.”

Sunshine chose a location on the side of a small hill overlooking the lake. Spreading the blanket on the well-manicured grass, she knelt looking across the water. The fog bank traversed the lake, hiding the far shore. She shivered.

Question 9) What can we expect from you in the future?

Ron: A novel entitled, “Sunshine at the Oasis.” The excerpt in the last question is from that story. It may be science fiction, or maybe a mystery, or maybe….

Question 10) What was the best money you ever spent as a writer?

Ron: That is an easy question. Undoubtedly, the money spent for my laptop. It transforms thoughts into printed words. All I need to do is place my fingers on the keyboard and it writes stories for me. Very cool.

Question 11) How can we contact you or find out more about your books?

Website: raandrade.com

Goodreads: R.A. Andrade

Amazon: Author page

