Author Interview: Sojourner McConnell

Today I’m fortunate to present Sojourner McConnell, author of Who’s That in the Cat Pajamas?

Hi Sojourner, thanks for agreeing to this interview.

Question 1) What part of the world do you come from?

61GRPiWN1bL._UX250_I come from the Southern part of the USA. Alabama to be exact yet, now I live in Kentucky. Not quite south but not exactly like living in the north either.

Question 2) What do you think makes a good story?

Interesting characters and a lot of heart. I love when a book makes me feel strongly about the characters and their journey. If I can connect to a character and want to know more about them and desire to share their story, then I know I am on track.

Question 3) What inspired you to write your first book?

My first book was inspired by a little voice in my head that I now recognize as Melanie. Melanie is the main character and she is quite involved in the story line. Her story was easy in some ways to write but painfully difficult in others. I still believe it was a story that needed telling. 

Question 4) What is your work schedule like when you’re writing?  

I wake up early before everyone else is up and I begin to write. If I give into temptation and sneak over to Twitter, Facebook or email, I am in trouble. I lose all sense of hard work if I get into a chat with someone.  I tend to chat more than I should. I write all day off and on and then in the evening I play about on the computer. At about ten when the house is again quiet, I add in a little more writing time.

Question 5) What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

I suppose the quirkiest thing I do, is to write several projects at the same time.  Several books, plus blogs and articles. I get restless and let the characters lead me into which project I deal with at a time.

Question 6) Give us the title and genre of your latest book.

My latest book is a children’s chapter book. It is a story that interested a four-year-old and a twelve year old and a few of varying ages in between,

Question 7) What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your book?

That I had a children’s book inside trying to get out. I thought I would be too constrained with vocabulary, but I found that children love to learn the meanings of words, even brand-new ones.

Question 8) Do you have an excerpt from your current work you’d like to share?

I would love to share this little bit, thank you!

41hlTLtEPGLDolcey moved from one end of the porch to the other, tail held high, pointed black ears perked forward, and silvery whiskers pointing straight at the front door. Twitching her cat whiskers was always tricky, but Dolcey was getting better and better as she strutted around. Purring and meowing enough to stir some compassion from the parents seems to be the hardest part, thought Dolcey.

“Emily, go get the milk and let’s get this boy somewhere warm.” Emily sped into the kitchen but Dolcey was no longer listening. Her fur was bristling as she glowered at Emily’s dad.

“Obviously, I am a girl,” she meowed with such ferocity that she almost scared herself.

Question 9) What can we expect from you in the future?  

More children’s books. Now that I have written this one, I see more in my future. I will also be writing another YA book to follow The Path of the Child. It was my first book and the characters and readers asked for a revisit.

Question 10) What was the best money you ever spent as a writer? 

Paying for my British illustrator, Ellie Barrett. She worked with me and brought the images to life.

Question 11) How can we contact you or find out more about your books?

I am a bit of a social media hound, so I can be found on the following:

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Sojourner-McConnell/e/B008IQDX4S

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/35086496-who-s-that-in-the-cat-pajamas

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8283786.Sojourner_McConnell

Facebook, I have an author page: https://www.facebook.com/SojournerMcConnell/

Facebook author & reader group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/288061251632208/

Blog: Https://sojournermcconnell.blogspot.com

7 thoughts on “Author Interview: Sojourner McConnell

Comments are closed.