Author Interview: Cristina Grau #Tuesdaybookblog

Today I’m fortunate to present Cristina Grau author of “Fulfil your Dreams”.

Hi, Cristina, thanks for agreeing to this interview!

Question 1) What part of the world do you come from?

B1MvLhWKjyS._SY200_I was born (many years ago) and raised in Montevideo, Uruguay. However, I have also lived in the US, France, The Nederlands, and England.

Question 2) What do you think makes a good story?

A story is good when it grabs you when it makes you feel something. It doesn’t matter the genre, what is important is that you don’t want to put the book down because you want to know what will happens next.

Question 3) What inspired you to write your first book?

I have been a nomad since 2008, and many people are amazed at my kind of life. I always get many questions about why I live like this, or what made me do it, or the most common one, how can I afford it. So, I decided to write a book explaining why and how I can do it.

I wrote it hoping that I can inspire somebody to live their dreams, as I am living mine. And I am proud to say, that I have been the inspiration for some people. Some have taken small steps, some have leaped into their dreams. Either way, I am happy to have been of service.

Question 4) What is your work schedule like when you’re writing?

It varies. Right now, I am house sitting in The Alps in France, so I have plenty of time to write. However, this past winter I was traveling through South East Asia and I did not write at all during the six months I was there because I was too busy gallivanting. As you can see, I don’t have a schedule, but when I get into writing mode, I don’t stop. Sometimes I even forget to eat.

Question 5) What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

I don’t think I have one. I write whenever the inspiration comes. However, I like solitude, even that I have been known to write in a busy place, but it doesn’t happen too often. One of the reasons I like to house sit in the middle of nowhere it’s that I have no temptation to go here and there, affording me the opportunity to write. Sometimes when I do help X or work away, I don’t have the chance to write as much as I want to, especially if there are many volunteers. It all comes down to discipline, and I never been known for having much of it.

Question 6) Give us the title and genre of your latest book.

416H8lyDwkL._SX311_BO1,204,203,200_“Fulfill your Dreams” is an inspirational book, and the steps needed to live your life to the fullest.

Coming soon “Backpacking my Style,” is a budget book, with a lot of history, mythology, and religion. No politics, even that in some countries it was very hard not to write about politics.

I am also sharing my experiences, and many photos of the gorgeous places I have visited.

Question 7) What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your book?

That I actually did it. Once again, it all comes down to discipline and writing requires a lot of discipline. I love writing, but I don’t like editing.

Question 😎 Do you have an excerpt from your current work you’d like to share?

From “Backpacking my Style”

Greece
Ελλάδα

Greece is situated in the south of the Balkan Peninsula on the Aegean and Ionian Seas. And it is comprised of over 1400 islands.

It’s often called the birthplace of Western civilization, and as you have read in previous chapters, many of these countries are known as the cradle of Western Civilization. They all want the credit.

Nevertheless, Greece was one of the most influential nations of the time. To this day, we still emulate the philosophy and politics of Greece. Democracy was born in Athens, Greece. As was philosophy, political science, literature, historiography, and mathematical principles.

Comedies and tragedies were also born in Greece. As were the Olympic Games and this year is an Olympic year being held in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

And don’t let us forget the food. Italy has the reputation, but most of the food’s root is Greek, Italy just puts tomato sauce on them.

Same with Mythology, the stories are almost the same, just different names and locals.
Taking about Mythology:

“Athena and Poseidon agreed that whoever gave the city the best gift would become guardian over the city. Though Poseidon thrust his trident into the rock, a spring burst forth giving the gift of water. Athena touched the ground with her spear, and an olive tree grew. The gift of an olive tree was deemed by the other gods to be more valuable.”
Even to this day, Greece is one of the leading olives producers. Some of the trees still producing olives are from the 13th century. Amazing.

Greek is one of the oldest languages in the world as it has been spoken for more than 3,000 years.

Greece has been under the ruling of many empires and countries.

Greece was under the Ottoman Empire until 1829 when finally achieve independence.
In 1940, Italian dictator Benito Mussolini attacked it but was defeated by Greece, just to fall under Nazi Germany until 1944, when with the help of Britain, they defeated the Nazi forces.

However, Greece did not gain freedom until 1973 when it declared itself a republic.
It also had wars with Turkey, the Crusaders, Russia, and many more neighboring countries. It also participated in WWI and WWII.

The most famous Greek war was the Trojan War circa 1200 BC. And we all know the story of Helen de Troy.

Just in case, here it goes…

Question 9) What can we expect from you in the future?

After I had written “Fulfill your Dreams” many people asked me how can I say that I don’t have much money, or that you don’t need that much money to travel the world. So, I keep track of all my expenses for a year, and I wrote: “Backpacking my style.”
In this book, I wrote about the history, the customs, and everything I did in all the places I have been. And of course, all the expenses I had, so everybody can see how much I spend in each place and the total for the year.

The English version is finished, and it will be published soon. Now I am translating it to Spanish.

Question 10) What was the best money you ever spent as a writer?

When I make some money, I will let you know.

Question 11) How can we contact you or find out more about your books?

http://www.amazon.com/Fulfill-Your-Dreams-Cristina-Grau/dp/1518856683

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N74LJZB/
Blog: https://gradmaswanderlust.blogspot.com
Blog: https://laabuelitaviajera.blogspot.com
Blog: https://asmallgangofauthors.blogspot.com/

If you want to laugh, go to: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WoVmvxOlcp8 to see me dancing with a camel.

Doha, Qatar
20031019_1978540305496866_115669066_n

George Town, Penang, Malaysia

19970469_1978540868830143_75621387_n

Hội An, Vietnam

19904791_1978542125496684_1553342788_n (1)

