Author Interview: D.H. Gibbs

Today I’m fortunate to present D.H. Gibbs author of Nika and upcoming book A Touch of Kindness.

Hi D.H., thanks for agreeing to this interview!

Question 1) What part of the world do you come from?

A1XNOT1aNOL._UX250_

I was born and raised on the Caribbean islands of Trinidad and Tobago. We are the southernmost islands of the Caribbean.

Question 2) What do you think makes a good story?

A good story is built on a solid environment and amazing characters. Once the two are cohesive it sets the foundations for readers to have a wonderful experience.

Question 3) What inspired you to write your first book?

41uTzTQqeGLWriting, in general, came at a time when I wanted a career change. I had to consider what was the one thing I loved above all else. It turns out I loved storytelling and I’ve been doing it off and on for many years. Once I made my decision two stories began stalking me: one Children’s and one Young adult. Since I could not get them out of my head I had to write them. Thus Danny the Firefly and Nika came to fusion.

Question 4) What is your work schedule like when you’re writing?

My work schedule overall is hectic. I’m not a full-time writer yet so I work full time which can average 8 to 12 hour days. Most of the time I write whenever I can squeeze more time out of the day. Which is usually early morning or late nights.

Question 5) What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

Recently, I realized I pace a lot. Lol. Sometimes when I try to work out a detail I get up and walk it out. Then jump back in my seat to write it down.

Question 6) Give us the title and genre of your latest book.

A-Touch-Of-KindnessMy latest book is called A Touch Of Kindness. It’s a sweet romance where the main character saw someone being mugged and helps him out. I won’t say any more because I don’t want to spoil it but there are secrets and drama that everyone will love.

Question 7) What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your book?

That I can actually create a book. That I can sit and write so many words that people enjoy.  Not to mention have it published.  I didn’t think I could do not at first but now I’m a junkie. I can’t stop.

Question 8) Do you have an excerpt from your current work you’d like to share?

From A Touch of Kindness:

Turning back she looked up at his six feet tall frame. By the look on his face and the slight flush in the cheeks, his apology was genuine. Releasing her pent up breath, she settled her shoulders and faced him fully. A sucker for a real apology, she gave in and asked, “How’s your face?”

He gingerly touched the discolored circle around his eye. “Much better than it looks.”

“Well, I’m glad you’re OK.”

“Thanks. My Name is Ro… er, Quin.”

Her brows gathered. “Did you get hit in the head and forgot your name?”

Question 9) What can we expect from you in the future?

After my sweet romance, I plan on publishing the second installment in the Seychatka Series, my YA Fantasy. I also have another short story romance in the works, but that one won’t be as sweet.

Question 10) What was the best money you ever spent as a writer?

Scrivener and buffer. They are both useful apps that help me to reduce me long list of things to do.

Question 11) How can we contact you or find out more about your books?

I can be found at any of the links below

www.facebook.com/dhgibbsauthor

www.dhgibbs.com

tweet to @dhgibbsauthor

www.goodreads.com/author/show/14098357

 

Or

 

www.facebook.com/dhgkids

www.dhgkids.wordpress.com

tweet to @dhgkids

About the Author

Hailing from her native Trinidad and Tobago, Author, Illustrator, and lifelong bibliophile D.H. Gibbs found a way to blend her creative abilities with her love of the written word.

From her early days, she spent many waking moments crafting tales, honing her graphic design skills, or dreaming up elaborate vacation plans to satisfy her love of exploring new locations. Her creative endeavors have afforded her many opportunities and inspired her to take her love of new and different worlds to craft Childrens’ and New Adult books for readers everywhere.

When not writing, she can be found dreaming up new, fantastical stories for her fans or indulging her love of art, reading, or planning her next great adventure.

