Author Interview: C H Clepitt #Tuesdaybookblog

Today I’m fortunate to present C H Clepitt, author of a variety of works, including The Book of Abisan and I Wore Heels to the Apocalypse.

Hi, C H, thanks for agreeing to this interview.

Question 1) What part of the world do you come from?

I’m from Bristol in the UK, famous for the Clifton Suspension Bridge, The balloon fiesta and Wallace and Gromit!

Question 2) What do you think makes a good story?

Well drawn characters and an exciting story. The characters have to be real for me to enjoy reading it, and I think the situations can be utterly ludicrous as long as the characters react plausibly.

Question 3) What inspired you to write your first book?

It’s a bit corny, but I actually had a very vivid dream, which basically told me the plot of the first four chapters, and it just went from there! My inspirations come from things I feel passionate about, and in recent years my writing has become much more political.

Question 4) What is your work schedule like when you’re writing?

A bit erratic! In an ideal world, I would be nocturnal, but as the rest of the humans are not, I am forced out in daylight, but really, I get my best writing done at night. I try not to schedule it, though, as I find it hard to be creative on demand, so I just go with the flow.

Question 5) What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

I guess that I play out entire scenes in my head before writing them. I go for long walks just letting my mind play them out, then I mull them over for days before writing them down. My process takes a while!

Question 6) Give us the title and genre of your latest book.

I Wore Heels to the Apocalypse – satirical sci fi.

Heels Text Meme

Question 7) What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your book?

Badgers make great spirit guides, and all the readers love a badger!

Question 8) Do you have an excerpt from your current work you’d like to share?

I am currently working on the sequel to I Wore Heels to the Apocalypse, and have attached a teaser for you!

Question 9) What can we expect from you in the future?  

Cape Meme (1)

Well, I am finishing up edits on Everything is better with a Cape, and hope to have it available for pre-order in less than a month, and am working on a new fantasy book called The Smuggler’s Daughter, which I am currently posting on newsnibbles.co.uk as I write it. The first two chapters are up there. Alongside that, I am working with another author to create a fantasy magazine, we have so much content and I am really excited that people are soon going to get the chance to see it.

Question 10) What was the best money you ever spent as a writer?

Reckon my Chromebook! It is so battered now, but it still works better than any other computer I’ve ever had, and I can just carry it around and write whenever and wherever I like!

Question 11) How can we contact you or find out more about your books?

I have a website, chclepitt.com, or I’m on Facebook @CHClepitt or Twitter @BadgersTweetToo. Stop by and say hello, I love meeting new people.

chclepitt

