Author Interview: Gina Dewink #Tuesdaybookblog

Today I’m fortunate to present Gina Dewink author of Time in My Pocket.

Hi Gina, thanks for agreeing to this interview.

Question 1) What part of the world do you come from?

ginadewinktimeinmypocketI was born and raised in Minnesota’s heartland, except for a slight detour to Wisconsin for a few years. Think corn fields, hotdish and lakeside cabins. 

Question 2) What do you think makes a good story?

That’s a terrific–and subjective–question. To me, a good story is something that centers around fascinating characters.

Question 3) What inspired you to write your first book?

The first book I completed was in high school, and my inspiration was just the urge to write. I completed two complete novels after that, but I never attempted to do anything with them. Time in My Pocket is technically my fourth novel. I’m not sure why I knew it was different from the others, but I knew right away. I have always been intrigued with time travel. After being a stay-at-home-mom for a year, I was craving time with my creative side again. I was inspired to write this book after I couldn’t find any stories combining my love of old Hollywood with the sarcastic “mom blog” tone I love to read.

Question 4) What is your work schedule like when you’re writing?

Oh, there’s no doubt my plate is full! My littles are now 4- and 2-years-old. I’m a part-time stay-at-home-mom with them. I also work part-time as a Communications Manager at an international nonprofit. In addition, I am an active freelance writer for several local magazines and online mediums. Every moment is a chance to compose sentences and scenes in my head. When I’m really working out a scene, I make ridiculous absent-minded mistakes like shampooing my hair twice or driving right past a turn!

Question 5) What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

Ha, maybe that my passion extends to the keyboard. When I was writing the last few chapters of Time in My Pocket, I typed with such gusto that I hammered out 14,000 words in one day, and BROKE our laptop’s spacebar! (And that wasn’t the first time that’s happened…)

Mackenzie: Ha! I can relate to that. I broke the P key on my laptop. I took it into Apple to get it repaired, and alas, broke it again the next day.

Question 6) Give us the title and genre of your latest book.

PocketebookcoverMy debut novel is Time in My Pocket. It is a sci fi time travel adventure that published on September 1, 2017.

The tagline says it all: She woke up in 1947…in someone else’s body.

When a sarcastic mother of two is offered the chance to go back in time through an antique locket’s mirror, she is told she must look past herself. But when she does, she escapes the confines of her (imagined) domestic prison and comes face-to-face with the reality of life in the 1940’s – glamour, communism, smallpox and all. Now she must find a way to return to life before falling through the mirror. Humor, history and sci fi coalesce in this breakout novel, TIME IN MY POCKET.

Question 7) What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your book?

I learned so many surprising and wonderful things about the 1940s! But one thing that will stick with me forever is that, if rumors are to be believed, Alfred Hitchcock did not have a belly button. Yes, that’s correct – no navel. Apparently, he had several stomach surgeries and it was removed during one of them.

Question 8) Do you have an excerpt from your current work you’d like to share?

Sure! I feel this little blurb gives a taste of what it would be like being a millennial trapped in the 1940s. Everything would seem so foreign!

She unclipped her nylon stocking and rolled it to her knee. I couldn’t look away. Not just because of my disbelief, but also because her legs were unreal. Like didn’t physically look real. From the land of photoshopped celebrities, I was almost disheartened to see that it indeed was physically possible to have legs that looked that good.

“Great gams, eh?” Sis said to my opened-mouth gape.

“Unreal…”

“This is just her lamplight gig. She’s a professional roller skater.”

I whipped around to face her. “That can’t be real.”

Her laugh was full of glee. “Sure it is. She’s hired to do a choreographed skate around tennis courts, parking lots, lobbies – she’s big in the party scene. Unique, graceful entertainment, wouldn’t you say?”

Question 9) What can we expect from you in the future?  

I’m still actively freelancing for several mediums, but as for another novel – I hope to write another. But we’ll take it one book at a time for now.

Question 10) What was the best money you ever spent as a writer? 

Another terrific question. I hired a cover designer and an interior designer. I would say I am happy with the money I spent on both. They made the book beautiful and real. I feel better having people buy a book they enjoy having on their bookshelf.

Question 11) How can we contact you or find out more about your books?

I’m active on my Facebook author page (https://www.facebook.com/ginadewinkauthor/), as well as on my website (https://ginadewink.com). You can also catch me on Twitter and Goodreads.

Thanks for having me!

Gina

