Author Interview: A.D. Trosper #FridayFeature

Today I’m fortunate to present A.D. Trosper, author of both epic fantasy, and fantasy/paranormal romance.

Hi Audra, thanks for agreeing to this interview!

Thank you for having me, it’s a pleasure to hang out with you.

Question 1) What part of the world do you come from?

Profile picThe western hemisphere. Specifically, the western half of the United States. I’ve lived in Washington state, Oregon, California, Oklahoma, and Kansas. I currently reside in a tiny town, without so much as a stoplight, out where central Kansas starts to bleed into western Kansas.

Question 2) What do you think makes a good story?

Great characters that you care about. A good setting is wonderful as well, but building a beautiful world is a waste if it’s populated by characters that readers don’t care about.

Question 3) What inspired you to write your first book?

Unveiled Cover Final 8-4-2017My husband. He’s the one who kept encouraging me to write, the one who kept telling me I could do it. Between his cheerleading and my love of dragons, my epic fantasy series was born.

Question 4) What is your work schedule like when you’re writing?

I work best in barely controlled chaos, so there is no particular schedule. I may not write anything for a couple of weeks, and then spend the next week after churning out almost ten thousand words a day.

Question 5) What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

I keep most of the story, the various backstories, and the various substories, in my head. I write down notes about characters like name, how they look, and where they are from. The rest of it is all filed away in a very messy records room in my head.

Question 6) Give us the title and genre of your latest book.

Betrayed Cover Final 8-4-2017 smallerMy latest book is Betrayed. It’s a fantasy/paranormal romance and the second in my Raven Daughter series in which a young woman finds out there is more to her than she realized. She was supposed to be a reaper, but her heritage makes her so much more than that and a lot of people aren’t pleased about it. 

Question 7) What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your book?

How to make Napalm B. I had no idea that was even a thing until I accidentally stumbled across a youtube video while researching something else. My curious, writerly mind of course had to watch the video, because as a writer, once you realize there is a new thing you don’t know, you have to learn it or it will drive you crazy. Or at least it would me.

Question 8) Do you have an excerpt from your current work you’d like to share?

Absolutely. This is a scene from Betrayed:

The man stepped from the shadows and walked toward us. Or maybe he glided, it was so graceful. Black hair hung to his waist in a straight, shiny fall. Though Caius had always seemed perfection of the human form to me, this man could almost make Caius seem average. Almost.

His height held my attention when he came to stop a couple of arms lengths away. He had to be head and shoulders taller than Caius, which made me feel absolutely shrimpy. Caius inclined his head slightly. “Hades.”

I nearly choked and my heart rate jumped into a gallop. Hades? As in the Greek god, Hades? I couldn’t help the tremble that started in my knees and worked its way up my body. Sentinels and demons wanting me dead weren’t enough? Now I had a god after me too? If he wanted me dead, I was screwed. Not even Caius could defeat a god. Without realizing it, I had reached out and snagged a handful of the back of Caius’s shirt. I didn’t know why, only that I needed some connection to keep the sudden terror at bay.

In my fear, I had missed part of the conversation.

“…relax, Caius.  I’m not here to kill you.”

“Maybe not, but there are very few I trust these days.” Caius shifted, putting me behind his back a little more.

“Now, Caius, is that any way to behave with an old friend?” Hades said smoothly and moved to where he could see me better. My trembling increased under the weight of his black eyes. “I merely wanted to get a look at the one who has everything in chaos. Shame on you for hiding her heritage.”

I glanced up at Caius’s face. I could only see the side, but if the tension in his jaw was any indication, he wasn’t pleased to see Hades. I couldn’t blame him. I did envy his calm as he faced someone who could obliterate him. Or maybe he wasn’t completely calm, but he seemed more pissed than scared. I would take that too. Unfortunately, I couldn’t find any anger in myself to latch on to. Only quivering fear. Then again, I was facing a kind of devil.

Hades expression became one of affront. “I am not a devil.”

I stared at him in shock. Could he read my mind?

“Yes, I can.” He glanced at Caius. “Does she really believe all of that forked tail and pitchfork stuff?”

“She was raised in the mortal world, with all of their stories.” Caius’s voice was still guarded as he moved his arm back to block me a little more. I place my other hand on the rock hard muscle of his forearm.

“Oh yes,” irritation flashed across Hades’s face, “those.”

He took in Caius’s stance and me tucked behind him and raised a perfect eyebrow. “Protective aren’t we?”

“We share a partial bond, what happens to her happens to me.”

“Except death.” Hades held up a finger. “That you would survive.”

A growl rumbled low in Caius’s chest and I could feel the vibration in his arm.

“Just a correction of your statement, nothing more.” Hades smirked and turned his attention back to me. “Such a little thing to cause so much trouble.”

Heat flared on Caius’s skin when Hades walked around him, reached toward me and hooked one of his long, perfectly manicured, nails under my chin, forcing me to look into his black eyes. I fell into them, drowning in their dark depths as they filled the world around me. My hand tightened on Caius’s arm until my nails dug into his skin.

“Enough.” Caius’s command was sharp.

Hades chuckled and suddenly the world was normal again. He gazed down at me with interest. “She’s fantastic. I can’t wait to see her grow into her powers.” He placed his finger against his lips as he regarded me. “I won’t even have to wait that long. Your blood is maturing her faster.”

Okay, terrified I may have been, but the way he continued to talk about me like I was a show dog started to irritate me and I welcomed the spark of anger that welled inside. It helped to balance the fear.

Question 9) What can we expect from you in the future?  

I have several books either in the works or planned. I will be writing the third and final book of the Raven Daughter series next. After that I have a 4th book in my epic dragon fantasy to write, one more book and one novella to write for my Bound series, and a couple of stand alone books that are also waiting in the wings to be written.

Question 10) What was the best money you ever spent as a writer? 

Buying Word 2010, lol. That is my go to for writing. I’ve tried Scrivner and a few others, but Word just works best for me. I think it’s because it isn’t highly organized.

Question 11) How can we contact you or find out more about your books?

You can find out more about my books, read my blog, sign up for my newsletter, and learn more about my books all at my website: www.adtrosper.com .

